Chez Maman

I absolutely LOVED this place.
So much that I daydream about coming here again.
Whyyy am I so crazy about this place, you ask?

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

Simply because of their French onion soup and pork chop.

There was so much flavor in the soup that I would’ve been happy without the cheese. But a French onion soup without cheese would be nonsense, so you can imagine how the cheese made the soup evenn better!

Pork Chop

Pork Chop

You know how you get tired of your food when you have a big piece of meat in front of you sometimes, especially if it turns dry while you’re eating? That was definitely not the case with this dish. Boyyy, am I glad I ordered this that day because it was grilled. to. perfection. Cutting into the meat was so easy that it told me that I was about to have a super moist and tender meal. The pork chop was juicy and seasoned so wonderfully that it wasn’t hard to finish it at all.

It was also served with brussel sprouts and an apple cider mustard sauce. The brussel sprouts came with yellow bits of something I couldn’t identify at first (you can see one of them sticking out from under the left side of the pork chop above). They tasted sooo familiar but I couldn’t think of what they were when I started eating. Think of how silly I felt when I realized they were small pieces of cooked apple LOL. The apple cider mustard sauce was unique and deeeelicious.

If you’re a moules-frites type of person, you should try them at Chez Maman too. They give a generous portion of mussels, and their nicely thin and crispy fries come with a garlic aioli. I liked the Thai style mussels my bf had, but unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of them or the fries. Their mussels don’t include fries though, so you have to order the fries separately!

Chez Maman offers a lot of French comfort food, such as crepes and pasta, at prices that are wallet-friendly. They’re actually known for their burgers, but I want to go back just for their soup and pork chop! The place is small and cozy, so it makes for a great date spot 🙂


Chez Maman
1453 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94107

2 comments

Leave a Reply

