Oatmeal Banana Bread

Remember in my last post how I said I never follow recipes unless I’m baking? The reason for that is because baking is a science, which requires accuracy. With baking, one little mistake can mess up the whole end product and there’s no way going back after it’s come out of the oven. This is why I prefer to cook (I was never a science person anyway).

… okay, I’ll admit that something I do change when baking is the amount of sugar and butter. Using the exact amount a recipe calls for usually makes the product too sweet and/or too heavy for me, so I like to use about 2/3 (or even 1/2 sometimes) of what the recipe says. I experimented with the measurements of some oatmeal banana bread recipes online, and I was quite happy with how mine came out.

Oatmeal Banana Bread

Oatmeal Banana Bread

Here you go!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup oats
1 cup mashed banana
1/3 cup milk (buttermilk preferred)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
cooking spray

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350°F and spray a 8 x 4 inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.
3. Combine banana, buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and eggs in a separate bowl.
4. Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until the ingredients are combined.
5. Spoon batter into pan and bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
6. Cool pan on a wire rack for at least 15 min.
7. Remove the bread from the pan and cool thoroughly on the rack.
8. Slice and serve!

Leave a Reply

